Posted by: alegra22 | November 15, 2013

in the studio

Image

Sol, “I can’t believe some people have to lie about their age just to get a job.”
He is crouched down making window art on a plastic folder.
Me, “Where did you hear this?”
Sol, “I’m not sure, I just think it’s weird that there are people who’d be sitting at home watching television but if they want to go do something, they have to lie about being old, and try to be something they’re not. That’s kind of strange.”
Me, “What do you think about that?”
Sol, wiping his hair out of his face, “I don’t know. I’m more interested in drawing this earth right now. I think I could get drawing this earth down to super quick given enough time. You know, mommy, I’ll probably act strange tomorrow with all the people over. I do that to get attention, have you noticed?”
Me, “Yes, I have. Why do you do that?”
Sol, “I don’t know.” He shrugs and looks down at his project, “Would you rather have a hula hula girl or a flower? A flower might be a bit tricky…” *pause* “I don’t care, whatever I do, it’ll be better than Zavi’s.”
Me, “Don’t be so sure.”
Sol, “So why are they having an engagement party here tomorrow? I thought people got married and then they had a party.”
Me, “Well, they won’t be getting married for some time, so they want to celebrate that they’ve made the decision and commitment to be married.”
Sol, “Yeah, I’m not so sure about getting married. I mean, I’m not sure why people do it. It’s a lot of work. I think I’d prefer just having servants.”
Me, taking a deep breath, “What do you think having a wife means?”
Sol, “You definitely can NOT boss her around and tell her what to do.”
Me, “No, you can’t. So, I’m a wife to daddy. What do you think I mean to him?”

Sol, “Well, you’re different.”
Me, “In what way?”
Sol, “Well, you mean a lot to daddy and us.”
Me, “So what do you think having a wife means?”
Sol, sighing, “I don’t have the words right now.”
Me, “Okay. Do you have any words?”
Sol, “Not sure if they’d make sense.”
Me, “Try me.”
Sol, “I’d rather not. I’d rather you write your stories and I do my art, is that okay?”
Me, “Yes, absolutely.”
Sol, “Good. I think we can be good at this, me and you. We know when to be quiet and when there is too much quiet.”
Me, “Agreed.”

Responses

  1. I love this!

  2. You know how blessed you are having such a strong relationship with your son. Very, very lucky.


Leave a Reply

Categories

