Posted by: alegra22 | March 3, 2013

You.

 

blog todayBefore my bones were knit

Together

In my mother’s womb

This dark, childhood forest

Of magic and splendor

Of fear and faith

Have been carved into the spiral

Of my DNA

But nevermind

What I want to say is this:

I am here to love

Not a flood that exhausts itself

Not a puddle

An ever-expanding ocean

A tide within its own timeline

A human that is able to say: You

I’ll roll your stone, your irritant, on my shore…
I’ll rename you:

Pearl

But only if you agree

Only if it is in

The spiral of your creation

To recognize this name

And say
yes

I’m beautiful

And then

I’ll hold you in my hand

I’ll protect you

I’ll wear you

Close to my throat

My heart

And worry you beneath my thumb and index

Whispering, “We are family”

You and I

This sand

This shell

This vast tide

Pushing us

Again and again

Against an eternal shore

Responses

  1. You’re a poet AND you understand your ability to write poems is rather good.

  2. Excellent.

  3. This is a beautiful poem–wonderful to read on a Sunday morning. Thank you Jordan Rosenfeld for sharing it.

  4. When you’ve not had this attachment experience and know what this does to your life, this expression of motherhood unfolds with the extraordinary wonder that it really is. Thank you Eros-Alegra dear!


Leave a Reply

Categories

