Posted by: alegra22 | March 3, 2012

Godspeed

Earl and Alziere

The storm is here and now you are gone. The sky is grey, the wind blows the leaves so that their pale undersides are exposed. I walk downstairs and stand awkwardly in the doorway of our housemates’ apartment because I feel a compulsion to tell them they are like family to me. What I am trying to say is that we are here with our plans and then without warning, it is done…the only thing that continues is this, our love.

I say it in too many words and repeat myself and then I have nothing left inside of me so I climb back up the stairs and grab my mug of tea. I sit with my knees up on the chair and look through photos until I find this one.

Its only been a few hours and between the quiet crouched in my mind, are the thoughts of your family’s grief. My sister-in-law, Alziere – your big sister. Your mother. Your father. Your brothers and sisters. Your aunties. Your uncles. Your gorgeous baby girl.

The days ahead will blow through us. They will rage. There will be a clean calm where there is nothing but the small acts of those of living making sense of your absence.

I imagine the moments of your morning, your hands on the steering wheel, your mind on the day ahead.
I imagine the moment it all changed.

In that moment I imagine the light of angels surrounding you and a peace that surpasses all understanding.

Godspeed Earl Kingi.

Responses

  1. So beautiful and such lovely words.. Rest easy my cuz you will be dearly missed.. Xoxoxo

  2. We are constantly reminded by God of our mortality. People we barely know and people we have spent most of our life with can be taken away so easily. I can’t think of any time in my life where I haven’t had thoughts of “what if”. What if the people I love were taken away from me? What if I was taken away from them too?

    Don’t take your life for granted and don’t take the lifes of others around you for granted either. You need to make sure the ones you love the most know that you love them. You already know that. And you know how much I love you, DC an the Mamaku Crew.

    Well written and spiritually touching.

    • You know I agree xoxoxo

  3. I am so sorry for your family. Utterly heartbreaking. All I can do is tell you you are all in my thoughts and prayers. Nothing makes this easier…and what a beautiful picture. I can tell by his eyes what a loving soul he was. I am sending my love.

    • I love you, Alyx. Thank you.

  4. Life really is so precious… Hold on tight to those you love!!! I love you Alegra and I am so very sorry for your family’s loss My thoughts and a million red balloons are being sent to all of you!! ❤ ❤ ❤

  5. Beautifully written. I’m so sorry for your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

    • Thank you.
      You and the lovely and the soon-to-be have been in my thoughts. You better give me notice when it all goes down! xxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

