Posted by: alegra22 | May 18, 2010

Meteors and U-turns

by Adcuz: N00b

 

Sol’s hands move in the darkness like moths, fluttering, leaving trails as he draws lines tracing the path of a meteor in his mind. 

“Remember how we talked about that? About the rocks that fall from the sky?” 

“Yes,” I say. “They’re called meteors.” 

He nods as if he has suspected this all along. 

“Why do they fall from the sky? If they hit our house will it catch on fire? And if our house catches on fire will all my toys burn? And if all my toys burn will I never be able to have those toys again?” 

His rats slam against one another in the cage, the thin bars rattling. One of them squeaks. One of the wire ladders goes crashing to the ground. 

“They always do that. They fight all night.” Sol tells me. 

“Well, if you stick two boys in a cage it’s bound to happen.” 

“Yes, well, sometimes Zaviera and I fight like that.” His fingers flutter in front of our faces, a shadow puppet show of conflict and resolution. 

“Yes, you do.” 

“But why do the rocks fall out of the sky?” 

He sounds worried. I was hoping he had forgotten the question. 

I pull my hands out from under the blankets and I begin to draw pictures in the air for his mind to follow. I draw the earth. I point to California and New Zealand. I send the planet into orbit. I become meteors crashing through the atmosphere. I draw a telephone and a scientist calling us, to alert us, so we have time to save the toys before our house explodes in flame. 

Satisfied but still worried about his toys, he wants to know where we will live once our house catches on fire. I can only reassure him so much without being caught in a lie. After all, Sol remembers everything and if our house happened to catch on fire as the result of a meteor, his trust in me will be forever destroyed. 

I always feel unprepared for these moments. Even as his small body curls up against mine and I am aware that this is a perfect moment, I want to slow things down. Hit pause, just to make sure I am doing this right. 

I fall through the night sky of my child’s mind. I never know if my answers will light up his imagination or come crashing into his world and destroy something. 

“Mommy?” His hands pause in the air. I hold my breath. 

“Mommy? Can I go to Joshua’s house? He lives here,” a finger goes stabbing at some geographical point that only Sol can see. “And we live here.” He snakes his hands through the dark, creating roads, navigating round-abouts. He describes the landmarks, the shops, the ‘half circle’ we have to take to find our way home. 

“It’s like the shape of a U,” he says. “We turn and we’re home.” 

I nod, my hands folded on my chest. I am a woman who gets lost coming out of a public restroom but next to me, my child already has a map in his mind that spreads out over miles. 

He knows how to find his way home.

Responses

  1. Now I’M worried about my toys burning

    • We should all be worrying about possible meteors gunning for our toys.

  2. Wow. another profound moment with Sol. Thank you!

  3. I think I’d make a terrible parent. I would’ve said that the meteors were made of cheeze-whiz, and if one hit our house, we’d have to make a new house out of the cheeze-whiz, and that we’d have to make NEW toys of cheese, but we couldn’t play with them very much cuz they’d just turn to glop, and once it started to rain and the cheese-whiz was melting, we’d have to dig underground and create special reserves for the melted-meteor-cheese, but it was okay, cuz I had a plan to put it in bottles and sell it as mountain-spring cheese-whiz and then we’d be gazillionaires, and then we’d build our house again (but this time with a giant turret sticking out the top) and a special meteor-cheese-catching device that would protect us.

    • That kind of response would work a charm with Zaviera (and believe me, I’m prone to coming up with something similar) but because of Sol’s literal mind, I always have to choose my thoughts carefully!. I can tell Zaviera there is a dragon living behind the mound of earth sitting in front of a neighbor’s yard and that there are little people living in her rice crispies and she is more than happy to go along with the story. Sol? Nope. He’d get offended.

  4. This is beautiful. I have no idea if my boy is going to be literal or not-so literal, but I suspect he’s going to be quite literal and I’m going to have to save my fantastic stories for the next baby 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

